The Sharon congregation dates back to some of the earliest pioneers of Telfair County, organized in 1837 by the Reverend James W. Williamson. The present building, sided with granitoid, was built during the height of the Great Depression, in 1936, a testament to the devotion and resolve of this historic congregation. Members of the building committee were: Graham Clark, Maggie Clark, Dr. J. K. Fussell, Dr. T. D. Fussell, J. B. Jeffries, W. H. Harrell, Bill Maloy, Dr. C. J. Maloy, D. H. Maloy, Dr. D. W. F. Maloy, J. C. Maloy, Dr. J. W. Maloy, Sam Nicholson, W. S. Tedders, Colonel J. K. Whaley, W. A. Willcox, and J. G. Williamson. W. L. Maloy was Clerk and Deacons were: A. E. Cook, Will Cheek, Dr. J. K. Fussell, T. F. Fussell, J. H. Maloy and W. S. Tedders.