Located on the grounds of the historic courthouse, Marion County’s confederate monument was dedicated by Mrs. Minnie S. Weaver, local UDC Chairman, on 23 August 1916. A crowd of over 2,000 came out to hear the Honorable W. B. Short and Lucian Lamar Knight deliver the keynote addresses. This was the last Confederate monument dedicated in Georgia in the Confederate commemoration era. The 12-foot-high ornamental bench, known as an exedra, is unique among Georgia’s official monuments.