Tag Archives: South Georgia Signs
This iconic general store is located in the Concord community, so named for the Methodist church which has been a presence here since 1850. It should be noted that there are numerous communities named Concord throughout Georgia, with the only incorporated example located in Pike County. Also, Concord has been known as Nubbin Hill, Patton Hill, and St. Elmo. Tom Cook ran the store, which was open into the 1950s, at least. Other than a replaced porch and restored sign, the building is largely original.
These derelict warehouses are well-known landmarks in downtown Valdosta. Multiple tenants have occupied them over the past century.
The W. L. Wisenbaker Company, wholesale grocer, was one of the earliest tenants. Others have included the Thomas Dekle Hardware Company, Valdosta Paper Company, Pearce & Skinner, and Mutual Candy Company.
The ghost signs are popular with photographers.
Valdosta Commercial Historic District, National Register of Historic Places